creative autobiography (part two)

 

What was the best idea you’ve ever had?
To stick with graphic design as my major.

What made it great in your mind?
I’ve wanted to switch to studio art, or art education many times. Mostly to studio. But I’ve held fast, and continued with my graphics degree. I still see myself chasing other dreams, and perusing fine arts in the future. But finishing what I started is important. I also have a great foundation for marketing myself as an artist. Having a degree in graphics opens a lot of doors that studio art wouldn’t. It has pushed me to think differently, to remove myself from what I’m creating, to problem solve, and to think analytically.

What is the dumbest idea you’ve ever had?
That there is a specific timeline, or a right way for your life to go.

What made it stupid?
I put so many unnecessary demands on myself because I feel like there is a certain order in which I have to complete things. Like when you graduate from college, I keep feeling like I’m behind because I took a year off, when in reality, that year gave me time to refocus on what I want, to meet and start dating my sweet fellow, and to make enough money that I could buy a new car and finish school. There isn’t a magical way life is supposed to go.

Can you connect the dots that led you to this idea?
From comparing myself to my peers, and trying to keep up. And because of all those well meaning people who are constantly asking dumb stuff like, when are you getting married? When are you going to start having babies? Whenever I want. thanks.

xo.
Caitlin

These are my answers to the prompts for writing your creative autobiography,
from the book by Twyla Tharp, The Creative Habit. 

part one


This entry was posted in the creative DNA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to creative autobiography (part two)

  1. Momma Di says:

    You make this momma proud!! I was concerned you weren’t going to post anymore of these since it had been a while. Now I know I need to get that notebook out and get started…..Love, MOMMA

  2. teddi says:

    on being true to yourself, go you! 🙂

  3. Pingback: creative autobiography (part three) | SHENANIGANS HAPPEN

Leave a Reply

