paperboat

 

I’m kind of in love with this little studio. I love the messes, the two collies that tumble around shop, and the sound of the press. I love standing at the press, running it for hours, I leave with an aching back and sore knees and the great satisfaction that I helped create something great.

I’m learning so much about paying attention to detail. I’m quickly learning to train my eye for the smallest mistakes. The hardest part is leaning the difference between the natural imperfections of letter press, which is it’s beauty, and real errors. It’s teaching me to sharpen my craftsmanship and to let go when necessary.

I love every single thing about it. Especially the pretty paper boats hanging in the window. I’ve been taking pictures of them almost every day that I’m there. Aren’t they just magical?

xo.
Caitlin

This entry was posted in internship. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to paperboat

  1. Momma Di says:

    I’m so happy that this internship is working out so well for you.
    The little paper boats make me think of earlier today while watching Zachary and Evan…Doyle and Debbie’s two little boys….making origami animals with Zachary for a special time for Big Boys after little brother went down for his nap. Maybe I can find a tutorial on how to make the paper boats and do that with Zachary the next time I go. He loved making the origami animals.

Leave a Reply

