creative autobiography (part four)

How do you begin your day?
With some grumbles, usually. Always a drink of water, sleeping makes me thirsty. Then shower, clothes, teeth, hair, hot tea, always tea and honey, sometimes some breakfast too, and finally, twenty minutes of sitting. I make a really big effort to wake early enough to allow myself 20-30 minutes of absolute quite. I read blogs, think, stare blankly at the wall… It’s the only way working fifty hours a week doesn’t make me lose my mind.

What are your habits? What patterns do you repeat?
Twice a week I wake extra early and go to the gym. I always drink tea in the morning. When I get to work I spend more time sitting, reading my notes for the day, rewriting them in the order that I’ll do them. After that everything is different, everyday is different, and usually half way through the day my neat plans change… fifteen times. Twice a week I spend the afternoon at my internship. Which is heaven. I always call someone on my way home. Usually Andrew for a two minute what-are-your-plans-tonight chat, or to say that I’m starving, and would he please make me a pizza, then either my mom, Pookie, or Missy.

What are your attitudes toward: money, power, praise, rivals, work, play?
Money: Hate that I have to make life choices based on it. Dumb.
Power: Don’t want it, too much responsibility.
Praise: My biggest motivator.
Rivals: Second biggest motivator.
Work: Always seeking it out.
Play: Need more of it.

These are my answers to the prompts for writing your creative autobiography,
from the book by Twyla Tharp, The Creative Habit. 

part one // part two // part three

This entry was posted in CREATIVE DNA. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to creative autobiography (part four)

  1. Momma Di says:

    I so agree with the morning quiet time. So needed!! You’ll always do well if you keep that. Nothing like those quiet moments, a warm cup of coffee or tea, the Bible and maybe a bit of journaling to get the day off to the best beginning ever!!

Leave a Reply

