stand on a stool

DSC_0655 copy DSC_0637 DSC_0665 DSC_0672 DSC_0677 DSC_0682It was a stand on a stool so you can think, kind of day. I spent seven hours in the studio, just printing my business cards. It took forever. Usually I’m there with my teacher, and she has this magical way of making things look so easy (and doing the hard parts without my knowing). Letterpress is not simple, you guys. It’s hard. Real freaking hard. I think it’s why I like it so much. It’s so satisfying when you finish something so real and tangible. I didn’t eye drop colors, I mixed the same green three times, by matching and guessing. I lined up my text not by clicking justify, but by adjusting gauge pins. So real. I love graphic design, but this is where it’s at. And when I can marry the two… that’s when my soul sings
p.s. And to the annoying checker at the grocery store, books are not dead and everything is not electronic, and my college degree isn’t worthless. You my friend are worthless for spewing such negativity into the world. I’ve gained cherished friendships, made incredible connections, grown as a person and learned to learn; my college degree is worth way more than a well paying job. Thank you very much!

 

This entry was posted in design, happiness, internship, school, thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to stand on a stool

  1. Momma Di says:

    I like your business cards and to that rude store checker…..how is being a store checker a well paying job? Oh well it takes all kinds to make the world go round!! Sorry this happened to you.

Leave a Reply

